A hearty welcome to my fellow lovers of baked goods

My first blog post and I thought I’d write a short and sweet introduction about the things I’ve been thinking about baking. These are cakey delights that I hope to write about on the blog in the future. Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about  wedding cake. Partly because I’m getting married next year, and I am going to make my own cake, and partly because Mr. Bandit and I have been to a lot of weddings this year and – you guessed it – eaten a lot of cake! So rather than making a ‘wedding cake’, I’m going to make several of my favourite kinds of cake, and have a selection. It also means I can make smaller cakes that are a bit more manageable in my kitchen and, more importantly, my little oven! So here are my thoughts on wedding cakes so far (although these would be equally lovely for tea parties, birthdays, other special occasions or just for scoffing!):

CARROT LAYER CAKE: I made a trial run of this at the weekend and it was seriously yummy. I based my cake on a recipe out of the Primrose Hill Bakery book, which my lovely cousin kindly bought me for my birthday. I’ll post my tweaked version of the recipe at some stage. Sadly I didn’t get a photograph of the cake (to be honest it didn’t last long enough to take one) which just means I’ll have to make it again… shame.

LEMON DRIZZLE CAKE: This is my favourite – all summery and light and lovely. I haven’t tried this one yet, but I’m ummmming and aaaahhhhing about whether to make a cake which just has a drizzle, or proper icing. I might have to try both….

A VICTORIA SANDWICH: The simplest are often the best and if I’m catering to the tastes of 100+ people, you know someone will be a fusspot. Well if they don’t like a Victoria sandwich then there’s something wrong with them!

CHOCOLATE CAKE:  This is Mr. Bandit’s request. Actually I’ve never found a chocolate cake that works to my satisfaction, they are always too dry. Lucky for me my lovely sister-in-law has come to the rescue and will (hopefully) be making this one.

Anyone got any other ideas? I’d love to hear some suggestions for other cakes that would work as part of a wedding cake table. Also, what are people’s thoughts on making them as fairy cakes? This was my mother’s suggestion on the basis that everyone gets a little morsel without someone having to cut them all. I’m not sure how I feel about that, I like a proper cake!

well my lovelies, that’s it for now.

Cheerio

BB x

2 responses

  1. Welcome to my list of grub related blogs, Baking Bandit! I’ve got a cracking carrot cake recipe, a pretty good lemon drizzle and an amazing chocolate fudge cake (courtesy of Nigella) if you’re interested. Mmmmmm, cake :o)

    1. Thanks Jo!
      I think I’m good with Carrot cake, but I may have another crack to tweak the icing and then I’ll post the recipe and some images. Off to my cousin’s wedding this week so might review her wedding cake choices! Incidentally, is the Nigella cake from the cake hall of fame section of ‘Feast’ – a wonderful book and the chocolate fruit cake is excellent.

Leave a Reply

